Baek In-je House

The Baek In-je House, located in Gahoe-dong, Bukchon, is a well-preserved example of modern hanok built during the Japanese colonial era. The house is situated on a 2,460 ㎡ land area that overlooks Bukchon. It consists of a well-built sarangchae (guest house), anchae (main house), spacious gardens, and small detached quarters which are located at the highest location.

Not only does the house maintain the traditional beauty of hanok, but it also features modern architectural touches. In terms of architectural size and historical value, Baek In-je House is a representative structure of Bukchon along with Yun Bo-seon House.

Architectural Features of the Baek In-je House

Baek In-je House was built with black pines grown around Amnok River, first introduced to Seoul at the Gyeongseong Exposition of 1907. It has various unique features differentiated from typical upper-class houses of the time.

Unlike other traditional hanok houses that have a sarangchae separated from an anchae, its sarangchae and anchae are connected to each other through the hallway so that residents can move between the two areas without going outside.
Its Japanese-styled hallways, tatamimats, red bricks, and many glass windows are typical architectural features of the time. In addition, part of the sarangchae has a two-story structure. It is a unique feature of the Baek In-je House that cannot be found in other traditional hanok houses of the Joseon Dynasty.

In the Baek In-je House, you can view its well-built sarangchae from the garden, the spacious anchae from the courtyard, and the small detached quarters from the backyard. The Baek In-je House is a valuable cultural heritage encompassing all beauties of hanok.

Baek In-je House daemunganchae

Baek In-je House salangchae

History of Baek In-je House

The Baek In-je House was built in 1913 by Han Sang-ryong, Executive Director of Hanseong Bank at the time. The ownership was transferred to Baek In-je in 1944, through Hanseong Bank, Choi Seon-ik, and others.
When Hanseong Bank owned the house, the Cheondoism group rented and used it as a meeting place and accommodation for followers from other cities.

Later, ownership was transferred to Choi Seon-ik, a young billionaire from Gaeseong. In 1932, he took over Chosun JoongAng Ilbo at the age of 27 and appointed as its President Lyuh Woon-hyung, a noted Korean independence activist. Choi Seon-ik marked a new era in Korean journalism.

Baek Inje who was a leading figure in the Korean medical circles of the time and his family acquired ownership of the house in 1944. In 1977, the house was designated as Folk Cultural Asset No. 22 by the Seoul Metropolitan Government in recognition of its architectural and historical value. Seoul Metropolitan Government took over the house in 2009, and after the renovation it was converted into an exhibition place displaying the beauties of hanok. On November 18, 2015, it was opened as Baek In-je House Museum.